Painting Alaska-Watercolor Kit

image

Business Card Palettes and travel brushes

Tonight I seriously started collecting and sorting through supplies to bring.A couple of days ago, I filled the pocket watercolor palette Carol had  given me as a gift. It is metal and the size of a business card holder. Carol found this .little gem at ExpeditionaryArt. It hold 14 different colors in mini tin trays and a magnet to hold them in with a white vinyl as a mixing tray. I wrote the name and number on the bottom of each tray with a Sakura microperm pens.

image

Labeled pans, color chart too!

The pen claims to be permanent on metal, will see if that is true. I filled them with a combination of Windsor Newton and Cotman tube watercolors. It took about a week to dry. Some of the colors are loose and would drip.
These colors were in my little wood box of tube watercolors. Until now I used two different Windsor Newton sets, small white pocket travel set with 8 colors and a larger set with 12 colors that I picked up at yard sale for $2.00.
As it turns out I was only missing 2 colors from the Wrangel State Park supply list. That was a first.
Then I cut watercolor paper to size and made color charts, with name. Until I can memorize the colors, .the charts are very useful. The purple triangle scrapper is a plastic credit card that is cut up.

image

Brushes opened, they are full sized and well balanced

image

Closed brushes around 4inches long

I am bringing my four travel sable watercolor brrushes, 3 from Utrect size 8,5 and 1. I treated Carol and myself to a handmade cats tounge filbert from Rosemary and Company UK .
I love the faux marble handle. All the brushes hold water well and retain there shape. Yeah!
Let me know if you have any questions. Enough for now, 1am my time. Goodnight and God bless you. Margaret
The watercolors I am taking are:
Cottman-
744 yellow ochre
346 Lemon yellow
119 Cadium yellow deep
580 Rose Madder
502 Permanent rose
090 Cadium Orange
465 paynes grey
609 sepia
100 Cadium red light
098 Cadium red deep
192 Colbalt violet
231 Dioxazine violet
179 colbalt violet
660 ultramarine blue
599 sap green
329 phathalo green
312 hookers green

Windsor Newton artist grade
422 Naples yellow
726 Windsor red (new tube)
074 burn sienna
544 raw umber
Permanent white
Chinese white (grey cast)
Zinc white

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Painting Alaska-Watercolor Kit

  1. I would not forget your camera or camera phone…no not for the pictures but if you find something that you want to draw and have to leave the area you can always work from the photograph. I am sure you thought of this I am just old and been out in the woods too long, but had to mention it.

    • Pete,
      Thank you for reminding me. Yes, the camera is on my list. Carol and I are looking forward to coming up North. I do take pictures for drawing and painting. I am the slowest painter… plein aire is rough for me. I noticed in your one picture on you blog, you have a bee netting on your head. Are those mosquitos in background? Are the mosquitos bad this year? Lol
      Thanks and Godbless.
      Margaret

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

